top of page

Create Some Fall Ambience With Sierra Spooks Candles

Burn the candles, hold onto the super cute spooky jars.


The Snow-White-inspired, skull-faced poison apple that acts as Sierra Spook's logo should be a pretty macabre image – but there's something about it that gives off a bright, cheery vibe. Maybe it's the Disney association, maybe it's the style in which the logo is drawn, or maybe it's just the positive energy that Sierra Ballard, the shop's creator, puts into everything she creates.


I recently had the chance to ask Sierra a few questions about her work, which includes creating candles, notecards, and decals, all bearing Halloween iconography in her signature style.


"I have been using art/creating as a hobby for so long, but I am so thrilled now it's part of my job!" Sierra told me. "I love spooky things and let it bleed into pretty much every aspect of my life, including my online shop!"


Art being a part of Sierra's job is a pretty recent development – she only opened Sierra Spooks this past June. "It has been so nice to see such a positive response and feeling of community within groups of other small businesses!" Sierra said. "I'm hoping that with time and support I can build my business to include a larger variety of spooky home decor and have a larger outreach!"



While Sierra Spooks features a few different products – with more to come as the shop expands – they currently specialize in handmade jar candles with creepy painted designs.


"When creating a candle I usually like to start with a particular phrase or idea to theme it around; the spookier, the better!" Sierra explained. "Once I have an idea, it's off to the drawing board to sketch out a few designs for the logo and name. After those are finished and ready for the candle, it's time to get ready to melt and pour! Making sure all of my wicks are properly secured in their jars, I then portion out the wax and melt it down. Once all the wax is thoroughly melted and the fragrance and dye have been added, it's time to pour! Ensuring each candle is evenly poured they are then ready for labels and off to their new home!"


Their candles come in a variety of scents, such as Cherry Merlot, Black Currant & Apple, and Old Books & Leather. Sierra's a big fan of the apple scent. "I love the warmth of the scent and the refreshing notes it gives off," she said. "It really makes a house feel like home to me!"



While the shop is fairly new, Sierra's love of Halloween goes back to her childhood. "I have unceasingly loved Halloween since growing up because I always felt it had this sense of mystery that I was sort of drawn to as a kid," she told me. "Knowing there was a night where seemingly anything could happen was enough to get me hooked! I think though, it’s also the ambience that Fall brings altogether; the smells of spices and rush of coolness in the air. It’s something that has always resonated with me. "


If you want to create your own Fall ambience, you can purchase Sierra's candles and other products through her Etsy shop, or follow her on Instagram to see more of her work.

24 views0 comments
bottom of page