top of page

Get Your Witch On With These Gorgeous Candles

So pretty you'll never want to burn them.


When I first came across the Instagram page for Cauldron Candles, I was immediately entranced. Their handcrafted candles, made in Co Cavan, Ireland, and inspired by a variety of books, movies, and other media, are not only spooky, but absolutely stunning.


I recently had a chance to interview the creator of Cauldron Candles, Lucy, about her products. Lucy introduced herself as a "37 year old mum of 2 [who makes] alternative candles & wax melts inspired by movies, books, music & the strange and unusual" – for instance, this dragon head candle, which is her personal favourite.



Cauldron Candles' products are made with soy wax and vegan ingredients. Lucy described the process of making candles as "quite scientific" – "I'll come up with an idea and the first thing to pick is what colour would suit it best, then the fragrance, what do I think that particular thing would smell like?" she explained. "Finding a wax that works well for you is the first thing, then the right wick to work with that combination of fragrance oil & wax can be tricky and take time and experience. Temperatures play a huge part when working with natural waxes especially when dye is involved."


The candles are available in various fantasy-inspired scents, such as "dragon fire" (a blend of raspberry and peppercorn) and "mermaid tears" (an ocean-inspired mix of sea salt, sage, and driftwood). Cauldron Candles has also released several special collections, with themes such as Halloween, Sun Moon & Star, and even My Chemical Romance. Most recently, they've released a Christmas collection – with a bit of a spooky edge available in the form of candy cane scented skull candles.



Lucy originally started Cauldron Candles for a pretty simple reason: "I loved scented candles and wanted to make my own," she told me. "I naturally went with themes that I liked and was drawn to. I make things that I would like to buy, based on things I genuinely love and am inspired by." That originally included soaps as well as just candles and wax melts, but Lucy eventually narrowed her focus due to the intense legalities involved with making and selling soap.


Since its inception, the business has grown a lot – but Lucy still has more she'd like to accomplish. "The fact that lots of other people get what I do & love it enough to buy it, that's by far my biggest accomplishment," she told me. "Goal wise I think along the same track that I'm on now, but just more organized! To build a work shop in the garden would be great as I'm taking over the house! I would have loved to have my own physical shop, but with Covid I don't think that'll ever be a runner."



I was interested to learn about what Halloween is like in Ireland – I know jack-o-lanterns have their origins there, but I don't know a lot about how people celebrate outside of North America. According to Lucy, "Halloween is nothing here compared to you guys in the US & Canada! I'm so jealous! It has gotten bigger in the past few years here, kids would usually go trick or treating and some people would decorate their houses, but it could be a lot better."


She also told me her favourite Halloween movie: "Hocus Pocus every time!"


If you're looking for some Halloween candles – or some Christmas candles, or some emo candles, or some dragon candles – Cauldron Candles is a great place to look. In Lucy's words, "I think before people just go straight to the big retailers it's always worth a search for smaller businesses that will cater to the holidays. You'll find much better quality & designs that are unique and handmade."


If you're interested in seeing more of Cauldron Candles, you can visit their website or follow them on Instagram.

24 views0 comments
bottom of page