top of page

Behind The Masks: An Interview With A Mask Maker

FX masks, not pandemic-style face masks.


When the creator of @Infected_Masks named his Instagram account, he probably wasn't expecting a worldwide pandemic to break out that required everyone to wear masks in order to prevent infection. He just wanted a place to share the masks that he collected, converted, and made by hand. It's quite an impressive collection – and if you're planning to start or add to your own impressive mask collection, you'll be happy to hear he now sells masks on commission.


So who exactly is this mask maker and seller? Well, he's requested that he remain anonymous – but he did agree to answer some questions about his work. As usual, my questions will be bolded, and his answers will be italicized.


1. Can you introduce who you are and what you do?


I like anonymity so I won't give my name but I go by either infectious or pestilence. I collect, alter/convert, and make masks.


2. When and why did you decide to start making masks?


I always loved Halloween and the autumn season in general. I'd have to say that this all started when I was at a local craft store (Mangelsen's) about 10 years ago. I bought a mask and kept it around for a few years before I decided that I didn't like how most of it looked. It had a big dome of a head with hairy warts and craters all over the top and these elf-looking ears. After awhile I decided that I only liked the face of it and that it would be cool to just have that as a mask. One day I just cut it up. Cut off all the parts that I didn't like and put some leather straps and a metal buckle on it and called it good. I loved it! I loved taking something that, by itself, was cool and made it awesome. I did a things like that over the course of a few years and then decided about a year and a half ago that I can make masks from scratch myself. So I picked up some sculpting supplies and jumped in head-first.


He's talking about this mask, pictured here before and after being converted.




3. What’s your favourite mask you’ve made?


I've only really made 3 from scratch so far. My most recent project is by far my favorite sculpt that I've done. My favorite conversion has to be my first. The character I've built with that thing is a small part of me that I'll never let go of.


His most recent project and favourite sculpt is this one, which isn't quite finished yet.



4. Can you walk us through the process of making a mask?


The first mask that I sculpted was really just me throwing clay at my armature and seeing what stuck (both literally and figuratively) I didn't have any reference to go from except that I wanted the jaw to move. Other than that I just carved at it until I got something that I liked. That sculpt was put into storage for about a year before I pulled it back out and finished it. This most recent one was commissioned and the general idea was to have sculpted features of a jack-o-lantern in a hockey mask. For that one, you gotta just start from the ground up. I sculpted the hockey mask first, sending progress photos throughout the whole process until I got to something that he really liked. After molding the hockey mask, I jumped into carving that pumpkin, so to speak. He gave me a picture that he drew for reference and I tried to follow that as closely as I could. After taking some small liberties that he gave me the ok for, we got something that we both absolutely loved. Next comes the molding, casting and finishing which all will be coming over the next week or so.


That first mask is this one, pictured here both as a sculpt and as a finished mask.




5. I believe you do commission work – what’s the best way to reach you if someone wants to commission a mask?


I do take commissions, though there is currently a wait. I take DMs on my insta@infected_masksor your can shoot me an email at infectedmasks@gmail.com


6. What mask makers or other fx artists do you admire?


Way too many to list but some of my close influences are Alex Wood of Shadow Masks, John Autumn The Candy Snatcher, and Hollywood of The Face of Hollywood. All of which can be found on Instagram.




7. Who’s your favourite horror movie villain?


The Xenomorph from the Alien franchise.


8. Is there a mask you would like to make that you haven’t gotten around to yet or don’t have the tools/materials for?


I'm just starting really so there are tons of masks I want to make so this is a hard one to answer. If pressed, id say I want to get into form-fitting silicone masks similar to how immortal masks make theirs.


If you're interested in seeing those tons of masks that he has yet to make, you can follow him on his Instagram account @Infected_Masks, linked above. Which of these masks is your favourite? Do you collect any masks? Let me know in the comments below!

45 views0 comments
bottom of page